© TUD/Eckold


More News

At a Glance

gerberbau © TUD

The Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law has been founded in February 1991, in the course of the expansion of Technische Universität Dresden. All of its Institutes and Chairs, the Faculty Administration, as well as the Branch Library of the Faculty of Law are located in the building ‘von-Gerber-Bau’. In total, the Faculty comprises seven Chairs of civil law, criminal law and public law.

The focal points of teaching and research are European and international law, intellectual property, competition and media law, commercial and technology law, environmental law, canon and constitutional church law as well as fundamentals of legal philosophy and legal history. Non-lawyers can participate in certificate courses in patent law or in intellectual property, media and internet law in order to acquire legal knowledge that is indispensable in many professions. Additionally, the Faculty of Law offers basic courses particularly designed for students of other faculties.

At the Faculty of Law, around 500 students are enrolled in bachelor’s and master’s programmes. Moreover, thanks to the ERASMUS Programme, the Faculty of Law is connected to more than 30 partner universities. A total of 45 places are available that are supported by scholarship.

More information about the Faculty