PAUL LECOQ



MAIN POSITIONS:

Elected Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2008), head of the Physics Division since January 2017. Senior Physicist at CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research), Geneva, Switzerland (diplomat status). Technical coordinator for the construction of the electromagnetic calorimeter of the CMS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. Initiator and Technical coordinator of the European FP7 EndoTOFPET-US project. Initiator and Technical coordination of the European EUROSTARS TURBOPET project. PI of the ERC (European Research Council) Advanced Grant TICAL (Time Imaging Calorimeter).

CV IN SHORT:

Paul Lecoq has received his diploma as Engineer in Physics Instrumentation at the Ecole Polytechnique de Grenoble in 1972, under the leadership of Nobel Laureate Louis Néel. After two years of work at the Nuclear Physics laboratory of the University of Montreal, Canada, he got his PhD in Nuclear Physics in 1974. Since then he has been working at CERN in 5 major international experiments on particle physics, one of them led by Nobel Laureate Samuel Ting . His action on detector instrumentation, and particularly on heavy inorganic scintillator materials has received a strong support from Carlo Rubia and Georges Charpak. He has been the technical coordinator of the electromagnetic calorimeter of the CMS experiment at CERN, which played an important role in the discovery of the Higgs boson.

Paul Lecoq is the founder of the CERN-based international Crystal Clear collaboration regrouping 28 institutes and companies worldwide contributing to the development of scintillator science. He has also created the SCINT conference series in 1991, which gathers every second year the international community working on fundamental aspects, production technologies and applications of scintillators.

Member of a number of advisory committees and of international Societies he is since 2002 the promoter of the CERIMED initiative (European Center for Research Research in Medical Imaging) for networking physics and medicine in the field of medical imaging.

He has been elected in 2008 member of the European Academy of Sciences and in 2017 head of the Physics division of the Academy. He has been awarded an ERC advanced grant in 2013 by the European Research Council. He has been elected IEEE fellow in 2015.