Conference: Stochastic Models, Statistics and their Application in March 2019

SMSA Logo © - SMSA Logo © -

© -

The 14th Workshop on Stochastic Models, Statistics and their Application (SMSA) will take place from March 6th to 8th, 2019 at TU Dresden. Primary aim of the conference is to encourage the collaboration in the areas of stochastic modelling and statistics as well as exchanging the latest research progress in the given field.

Main topics and focus areas of SMSA are going to be:

  • Time Series
  • High-Dimensional Statistics
  • Statistical Process Control
  • Statistics for Stochastic Processes
  • Econometrics
  • Change-Point Analysis
  • Spatial Statistics
  • Nonparametrics
  • Machine Learning
  • Data Science
  • Sequential Analysis


You can either download the conference schedule as an .iCal-file here or as a .pdf-file here.

Conference Fee:

The charge for participating in the conference is as above:


Early Bird

Regular On-Board Conference
Members of ZQS e.V. 105€ 115 € 125 € 55 €
Other Participants 210 € 230 € 250 € 55 €

In the context of this conference you are friendly invited to join the AG-ZQS.

The fee includes:

  • Workshop booklets (Book of Abstract, Conference Guide)
  • A guidebook for the city of Dresden
  • 3 lunches at the university's canteen
  • Coffee breaks and simple lunches
  • City ticket for public transportation
  • An issue of the conference's proceedings book

Conference Dinner:

The conference dinner will take place on Thursday, March 7th at the Eventgewölbe/Bärenzwinger in the centre of Dresden right underneath the famous Brühl's Terrace and nearby the Frauenkirche. If you like to attend the dinner, please opt in within the registration process.


To register, please send an email (smsa2019@mailbox.tu-dresden.de) containing the following informations:

Name of your session:
Title of your talk:
Abstract (max. 500 words):
Attendence at the Conference Dinner:
Member of ZQS e.V. :
Invoice adress:

If you do not know the name of your session, you can use the list of all session names posted below.

If you are a non-lecturing participant you only have to fill in the last three points.

After your registration, you will receive a confirmation and an invoice including further payment details such as our bank account number and required payment title.

Important dates for registration:

Submission of the Abstracts of contributed talks: until December 15th, 2018
Decision on the Abstracts of contributed talks: until December 20th, 2018
Submission of the Abstracts of invited talks: until January 06th, 2019


The  workshop will take place at Technische Universität Dresden, in the Gerhart-Potthof-Bau.


For your stay, we reserved (Code: "SMSA2019") a limited contingent of rooms at the

ibis Hotels Dresden
Prager Straße 5/9/13
01069 Dresden
Tel.: +49 351 48564856

for 59€/79€ per night for a single/double room including breakfast.

Please make sure to book a room by yourself as early as possile via their website or hotline.

Publication of Proceedings:

We are organizing a proceedings volume in the renowned Springer series PROMS (Proceedings in Mathematics and Statistics). It will be edited by Ansgar Steland, Ostap Okhrin and Ewaryst Rafajłowicz. Submissions should address the workshop topics but the material can differ from the presentation. The page limit is 8 pages for contributed talks and 15 for invited. Since the proceeding will have a strict reviewing process the deadlines are as follows:

Submission of papers: January 6th, 2019
Acceptance notification: February 10th, 2019
Submission of revised papers: February 26th, 2019

Participants who wish to submit have to use the style files and templates we provide here. To submit, please use the system on the Springer website here.

Please note that all participants can have free online access to the final published e-book on the Publisher's portal of the conference (currently SpringerLink), but just in a time span of 6 weeks after it becomes available.

In this context please regard the following stipulation:
Access to this book is for private and personal use only. Please note that you are not allowed to make the published e-book or parts of it freely available on the internet via an institutional repository or private website or in any other way. Any kind of reproduction or dissemination is not permitted.

The main speakers, organizers and committee members are listed below.

Plenary Speakers
    Mark Podolskij (Aarhus University)
    Alessandro di Bucchianico (Eindhoven University of Technology)
    Irène Gijbels (KU Leuven)
    Winfried Stute
(Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen)

Session Topics and Organizers
Adaptive Treatment Allocation in Clinical Trials  - Steve Coad
    Big data and the calibration of mobility simulations - Ostap Okhrin / Dietmar Bauer
    Change Detection and High-Dimensional Inference for Dependent Data - Ansgar Steland
    Discrecte-Valued Time Series - Christian Weiß
    Distance-based Statistical Methods - Wolfgang Stummer
    ENBIS-Session Business and Industrial Statistics - Rainer Göb
    High-Dimensional Problems in Engineering - Ewaryst and Ewa Rafajlowicz
    Inference for Multivariate and High-Dimensional Statistics - Markus Pauly
    Machine Learning and Robustness - Andreas Christmann
    Multivariate Distributions and Copulas - Eckhard Liebscher
    Nonparametric and Semiparametric Testing - Mirek Pawlak
    Optimal Stopping and its applications - Krzysztof Szajowski
    Random closed sets and stochastic optimization - Dietmar Ferger
    Random Matrix Theory - Nestor Parolya
    Small Area and Microsimulation - Ralf Münnich          
    Statistical Process Control and Quality Control - Sven Knoth
    Statistics for Stochastic PDEs - Markus Bibinger
    Theory and Statistics of Stochastic Processes - Rene Schilling

Organizing Committee
    Ansgar Steland (RWTH Aachen)
    Ostap Okhrin
(TU Dresden)

Local Organizing Committee
    Ostap Okhrin (TU Dresden)
    Manuel Schmid (TU Dresden)
    Martin Waltz
(TU Dresden)

Programme Committee
    Ansgar Steland (RWTH Aachen)            
    Eckhard Liebscher (FH Merseburg) 
    Marco Burkschat (RWTH Aachen)
    Christian Weiß (HSU Hamburg)

    Rainer Göb (Uni Würzburg)
    Ostap Okhrin (TU Dresden)

Zu dieser Seite

Martin Waltz
Letzte Änderung: 16.02.2019