The Schools and Faculties of TU Dresden

More autonomy, synergies, interdisciplinarity, strategic and operative scope: Guided by this vision TUD’s Faculties are on their way to organize themselves under the roofs of 5 Schools. Governed by the principle of subsidiarity, academic plurality shall be ensured and, simultaneously, the synergetic advantages in research, education, administration and infrastructure shall be supported. The restructuring of the 14 Faculties into 5 Schools implies fundamental changes for the University. In order to organize this in an optimal way, a defined transition process comprising 3 phases is envisaged: In May 2012 the Schools were established to bracket the respective Faculties. During the following transition (phase 2), the autonomy of the Faculties will be retained while they adjust their procedures gradually to the future School structure starting with implementing a School administration unit. The third phase of structural changes will start after a positive evaluation of phase 2 and shall be considered to transfer the remaining responsibilities of the Faculties to the School level.

School of Science

Faculty of Science, comprising the departments Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and Psychology

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Faculty of Linguistics, Literature and Cultural Studies

Faculty of Business and Economics

School of Engineering Sciences

Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faculty of Computer Science

Faculty of Mechanical Science and Engineering

School of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Faculty of Architecture

Faculty of Civil Engineering

Faculty of Environmental Sciences

Faculty of Transportation and Traffic Science

School of Medicine

Faculty of Medicine Carl Gustav Carus